9 Days and Counting Stuff

I usually sleep well, in fact, I enjoy sleep. I even love late evenings, when it’s getting close to bedtime and the preparation for it. However, every so often sleep isn’t all that restful. Last night when I wasn’t dreaming of dealing with the inevitable I was actually thinking about it. The worse part was that when I got up this morning it wasn’t just a dream – it was reality – I have to deal with the NOW.

It has come to this … I am back at the point of re-evaluating all our STUFF. Most of you know we were very fortunate to be able to share a lot of our bigger stuff, and some smaller stuff as well, with a family who had lost everything in a house fire. The beds, dressers, hide-a-bed sofa, etc etc etc … it felt good not to just turn it over to some unknown entity even if you know it is for charity.

So, then, what stuff is the stuff I am talking about now? Well, maybe it is just me and my family but we have all this paper, all these knickknacks, and bookoos of boxes of sentimental things that have just gathered around us through the years. They have followed us from house to house for the simple reason none of it belonged to any one else and it had to go somewhere. Throw this away? I don’t think so, after all it’s not trash!

 

You know that saying, ‘the buck stops here’? I am adopting it as my new slogan in my immediate life with a little twist ‘the stuff stops here’. I am re-negotiating what I feel has to be kept. I have to ask myself some hard questions and give myself some honest answers. What exactly will I look forward to having on hand as I get older? What can’t be replaced? Just what is worth the $$ it will cost to keep it?

 

In my Road to Abundance blog I dealt with this issue in at least 2 notes – maybe more – just search for ‘stuff’ if you’re interested. And also, Terri, who I will be joining in Honduras dealt with her stuff when she and Marc moved there in 2007 – her notes during that time are priceless! I guess every military, ex-pat and missionary wife has to face this time as they make their move overseas. But even though others go through this and I myself have gone through it before … oh, dear, the NOW of what has to be done in the next few days is HARD!!

 

So, I have my time with the Lord, feel renewed and am going to go at it with a zeal and determination … yep, I am going to get ‘er done. I am telling myself, “you can do this, girl.”

 

Well … we’ll catch ya later …

and BTW the scripture that keeps coming to mind is this:

 

First a warning

Luke 12

16And he told them this parable: “The ground of a certain rich man produced a good crop. 17He thought to himself, ‘What shall I do? I have no place to store my crops.’

18″Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods. 19And I’ll say to myself, “You have plenty of good things laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry.” ‘

20″But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’

21″This is how it will be with anyone who stores up things for himself but is not rich toward God.”

And then a reassurance …

32″Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom. 33Sell your possessions and give to the poor. Provide purses for yourselves that will not wear out, a treasure in heaven that will not be exhausted, where no thief comes near and no moth destroys. 34For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Material World

Leave a Reply

