“Cosiendo Para Cristo”

Con mucho amor te invitamos

a un taller llamado

Cosiendo Para Cristo”

en donde aprenderemos a coser,

y lo mas importante,

aprenderemos del evangelio

de nuestro Senor Jesuscristo.

! Juntas aremos grandes cosas!

Tendra una duracion de 4 semamas

empesando el dia 5 de mayo

12, 19,. y terminando el

26 de mayo.

De 2pm a 5 pm

Cosiendo Para Cristo” or, in English: Sewing for Christ.

Above you see the invitation Lilian Molina and I handed out the last week of April. We invited young girls in my neighborhood to come to our house for a course in sewing. Let me back up here by saying … a good while back I posted a note and pictures of the girls who regularly came by our house to visit, play with Sadie and just spend time. I was getting a little overwhelmed by daily visits and Lowell suggested that I set up a visiting schedule once or twice a week with a set time and activities – something like the kids and I did in Nigeria with the village children. (there it was singing, Bible videos, crafts, and a snack every Wed, afternoon).

These are Our Girls ... with Cecilia and Lili

Which brings me to Cheryl and “it’s a small world after all”. After prayer and much thought the Lord brought me face to face with a solution … via facebook! A connection was made with Cheryl Buchannan Judd who was with us at Freed-Hardeman. She posted a note and pictures of Sewing for Christ – ministry she and her small congregation in Fawn Creek, GA started in 2010. After an exchange of emails and messages (and even snail-mail for the patterns!) I knew this was what I wanted to offer! Granted, I am on the mission field so, this was a re-make or expansion of Cheryl’s ministry knowing the dresses, bags, britches, etc will stay here – not be sent off to another country. Now, to find help and machines enough to carry it through.

Which brings me to Lili! Remember way back when I posted a note about the youth being in our home and the young lady, Charlene got hurt? (Bad with the Good) Well, a few days after that Jake and I went to visit Charlene, daughter of Lili, and during the visit I saw that Lili had sewing machines … serious machines! I mentioned to her that I had an idea and if she was interested she might could help me out. She was thrilled. Lili can sew professionally and she had been longing for a ‘project’. Lili and I already co-teach the 5th – 7th graders at Sunday school so, I knew we’d work well together.

Which brings me to Cecilia – our ‘adyudante’ or ‘helper’. A good while back I mentioned we had great neighbors. This is Cecilia – when she found out I was going to have a sewing class she asked if she could help. Her help has proven invaluable. I am so happy God has brought Lilian and Cecilia together as friends.

Cecilia and daughter, Andrea... good neighbors and friends

We have one more class with these girls, but they don’t want to stop so, we may extend a couple of weeks. Already, we have seen fruit from our labors … Kahori had pretty much stopped coming to church activities but she has started attending again. Also, Dayana is coming not only to our Friday night studies but also, to some church services and now her older sister, Tanya, is coming too. We’re waiting for their Mom, Maria Jesus, to join them in one or all activities soon. A sidenote here, after numerous times of Tanya and Dayana in our home and then finally coming to church we learned their Mom is cousins with one of our ‘newly married’ ladies – Margarita. Margarita is really excited about the possibilities of reaching this family for the Lord – as are we!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

Filed under Foreign Missions, Special Times!

One response to ““Cosiendo Para Cristo”

  1. Cheryl Buchanan Judd

    Robin, I love it!! The pictures are great and I would like to use them in my display in July at Freed Hardeman. How special to see such a simple skill used in a spiritual way for outreach. You and Lowell are doing a great job in Honduras. Love you both for it.
    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

