Changes … can be fun, and a little unusual … :/

When Jacob left here a number of things had to change – at least for me (Robin).

One thing was inevitable – I would no longer be walking everywhere as before. Daytime journeys out to the pulperias (little grocery stores) could still happen but not in the extent as they did with Jake around – the loads are just too heavy for me to carry on my own.  Taxis are available sometimes but not always when you need it and as often as not, we would walk all the way home with our cargo.  And too, just having a male presence made things more comfortable. There’s so much construction going on and the cat-calls and remarks (a way of life here) are a little harder to deal with on my own.  Also, I am more cautious by myself  even here at the house … for example, locking the front gate and the doors when I’m not downstairs.

Walking to church gatherings on Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings is out … in the past, generally speaking, Jake and I walked by ourselves and met Lowell at the building. Well, I don’t walk anywhere by myself after dark and have kind of lost confidence even in daylight to go far afield. For example, the usual way I used to go to the building changed because of road construction.  A couple of times of being really spooked ended that a while back.

So, what has happened is this:   A month or so before Jacob left Lowell got a motorcycle (exactly 46 days ago- he just had the 45-day-check-up) . The purchase of the bike was due to the generosity of 2 very special families and he got it when he needed it the most – he had developed Plantar Fasciitis and was suffering with severe foot pain. The pain has greatly reduced since he’s been able to give his feet a break from all the walking. On the motorcycle Lowell was pretty much solo while Jake was here but now, I’ve hopped on board.

My rule is: if it is a combination of dark and rainy, I stay home. Otherwise, my wardrobe choice has drastically altered – this lady who has worn skirts or dresses probably 70% of the time for years and years now dons her jeans or pants for trips out.  We discovered mighty fast that side-saddle riding may have been fine on the long, straight roads of Nigeria but here on these rut-filled steep hills it is just not feasible or safe. (although… I have learned what long, full skirts I can get by with on a Sunday night – you know for riding astride yet modestly ).

Oh, just fyi, I always feel safe with Lowell’s driving and I trust his every move … not necessarily the other guy though! So anyways, we just glide along, bumpity-bumpity- BUMP, glide, slide bumpity-bumpity-BUMP, GLIDE  and move in, out and around these Honduran roads. If you’ve never rode a motorcycle on a cobblestone street, you should try it sometime!

Our helmets are bright red … we’ve been told they look happy (thanks, Richard) and like they look like ripe tomatoes. They put me in mind of the veggie tale character, Bob, the Tomato. I call us the ‘tomato heads.  Even with the bright tomato-red helmet, I think Lowell looks pretty cool on his motorcycle.

Not bad for a pair of old fogies, huh?

Blessings every one … we’re outahere!!

Zoom-, bumpity-bumpity- BUMP, glide, slide bumpity-bumpity-BUMP, GLIDE … zzooooommmmm

Image

Leave a comment

Filed under Foreign Missions

Leave a Reply

